Distinguished Teaching Prize

Learn more about the prize and our past winners below.

The Distinguished Teaching Prize of $1000 is awarded annually to full time or part time members of the John Jay College faculty to honor excellence in teaching. Up to three faculty members (full-time and part-time) may receive the award each year.

The Distinguished Teaching Prize is meant to recognize excellence in

  • student-centered teaching
  • dedication to feedback and continuous improvement
  • creative and innovative approaches

Nominations may be submitted by students, faculty, and faculty development staff. Self-nominations will also be accepted.

Final award selection will be made by the Advisory Board of the Teaching & Learning Center in consultation with the Associate for the Provost for Faculty and the Provost.

Faculty who receive the 2018 Distinguished Teaching Prize will not again be eligible for this award until 2023.

Questions about the award may be directed to Dr. Gina Foster, Director of the Teaching and Learning Center, gifoster@jjay.cuny.edu

Past Winners

Assistant Professor of Sociology Carla Barrett
Adjunct Assistant Professor of English and Gender Studies Robert Faunce


Associate Professor of English Alexander Long





Writing Program Director and English Department Lecturer Christen Madrazo
Associate Professor of Communication and Theatre Arts John Gregory Donaldson












Lecturer in English Kimberly Helmer
Assistant Professor of Africana Studies Crystal Endsley
Assistant Professor of Political Science Michael Yarbrough
Associate Professor of Psychology Silvia Mazzula
Assistant Professor of Economics Ian Seda-Irizarry
Assistant Professor of Economics Michelle Holder
Assistant Professor of Economics Mathieu Dufour
Assistant Professor of Economics Geert Dhondt
Assistant Professor of Public Management and Deputy Chair for Academic Technology Adam Scott Wandt
Professor of Health and Physical Education Jane Katz
Associate Professor of English Richard Perez
Associate professor of English Mark McBeth
Associate Professor of History Allison Kavey
Associate Professor of Counseling Katherine Stavrianopoulos
Associate Professor of Psychology Jillian Grose-Fifer
Professor of Biology and Director of the Honors College Nathan Lents
Presidential Scholar and Professor of Psychology Margaret Bull Kovera
Associate Professor of Communication and Theatre Arts Dara Byrne
Assistant Professor of Latin American & Latina/o Studies Isabel Martinez
Professor of Communication & Theatre Arts Elton Beckett